2024 Summer Virtual Bootcamp – Course Materials

2024 SUMMER VIRTUAL BOOT CAMP 

Thank you for enrolling in Strength Matters' 2024 Summer Virtual Boot Camp course. In this 11-week course we'll cover the accounting and financial reporting issues faced by a nonprofit housing enterprise throughout the lifecycle of an affordable housing deal.

The course is held weekly, except May 22 and July 3. Most classes are on Wednesdays, expect for two modules held on Tuesdays — June 11 and July 16, all classes start at 1PM Eastern/10AM Pacific. Links to each week's slides and handouts are below.

A link to the module recording will also be posted once available. 

Questions about CPEs? Email Lindsay at [email protected].
General questions? Email Chelsea at [email protected]

Course Materials: 
+ Course description and CPE summary
+ Course participant list with contact info 
+ Instructor bios

+ Introduction to affordable housing (PDF)
+ Modules slides (ZIP file) 
+ All course handouts (ZIP file) 


May 15 | Module 1: Identify the Deal, Grants & Contributions, Predevelopment Best Practices
1PM-3PM ET | 10AM-Noon PT

Module Recording 


May 29 | Module 2: Entity Formation and Deal Structure 
1PM-2:30PM ET | 10AM-11:30AM PT 

Module Recording


June 5 | Module 3: Deal Structure, Deal Cycle & Participants, Qualified Allocation Plans, LIHTC Calculations and the State Determination Letters
1PM-2:30PM ET | 10AM-11:30AM PT

Module Recording


June 11 | Module 4: Financial Projections, Investor Letters of Intent 
1PM-3PM ET | 10AM-Noon PT 

Module Recording


June 19 | Module 5: New Construction, Rehab & Funders Requisition
1PM-3PM ET | 10AM-Noon PT 

Module Recording


June 26| Module 6: Cost Certifications & IRS Forms 8609
1PM-3PM ET | 10AM-Noon PT 

Module Recording


July 10 | Module 7: Transition to Operations, Key Operating Documents
1PM-2:30PM ET | 10AM-11:30AM PT 

Module Recording


July 16 | Module 8: Operations Issues 
1PM-2:30PM ET | 10AM-11:30AM PT 

Module Recording


July 24 | Module 9: Financial Statement Presentation & Intro to Surplus Cash 
1PM-2:30PM ET | 10AM-11:30AM PT 

Module Recording


July 31 | Module 10: Surplus Cash Case Studies
1PM-3PM ET | 10AM-Noon PT

Module Recording


Aug. 7 | Module 11: Consolidation and Year 15 Issues 
1PM-3PM ET | 10AM-Noon PT 

Module Recording

Neighborworks Logo HPN Logo SAHF Logo